Going Chaos

Verythrax Draconis

Hi!

The new Chaos releases finally made me turn renegade - the stars are right! I'm planning to get the Dark Vengeance minis and the Chaos bundle with the codex - I believe it will be a solid base to build an army, for cheap. So, I'm here to ask: where should I go after that? I already have a Chaos Land Raider, and some marines I plan to convert after I get some extra bits. My idea is to get some berserkers and/plague marines, from what I know about them from the 5th edition. What you guys think?

The other thing is the choice of legion/chapter/warband. Any news if there will be god-specific lists this time? I'm considering Iron Warriors (since silver/gold is easy to paint, I'm a really bad painter, and it would match nicely with the new mech-things) or Astral Claws - so here is my question, reading the Lexicanum, I understood that the AC turned renegade, but only went to Chaos after changing their name to Red Corsairs. Is that correct? If that's the case, AC is a no go.

Other idea is to create my own warband, but I'm seeking for a color scheme that would suit undivided/khorne/nurgle squads at the same time. Maybe bleached bone, with brass trim, or Alpha Legion (but I have no idea on how to achieve that blueish purple tone in a easy way). Word Bearers seems like a no-brainer, but painting that dark red must be a pain. Suggestions?

Firstly. Welcome to Chaos.

Second. Only go with the bundle if you want everything in it. It's not cheaper, it's the same price as if you'd ordered each individually. It exists for convenience and probably hoping you think it's cheaper and won't check the math.

3rd. As someone who has only ever painted marines dark red. Is not that hard. The old scab red needed a few coats, but wasn't hard. And the new Khorne red only needs one or two coats. But yeah. I suggest Word Bearers all the way.

Firstly. Welcome to Chaos.

Thanks!