Beating Deathwing

Fionnrua

Hey guys,

First of all, I'm a longtime painter/relatively new player.

I'm looking for some advice/tactics for when I fight my friend's Deathwing.

I've gathered that massed ap2 stuff, pref templates, would help a lot here but I was wondering if any of you have any experience in beating Deathwing and could you share some tips on what kind of list I would need.

I'm guessing my buddy won't be using Deathwing Assault so it'll be the slow, purposeful advance of 30 terminators…

For HQ, I believe Tycho with Corbs would be best (in my amateur opinion) stuck with sternguard in a pod? (not too sure about the sternguard or even a pod as it may pander too much to DW's strengths as they'll curb-stomp this as soon as they get a chance).

Maybe throw in a few full DC squads to get the charge and initiative to try and take as many out before the waterfall of powerfists descend…

I also fancy a bike squad and an attack bike; plasma & meltagun with a pf and attack bike with mm to try and split his forces somewhat.

Been fiddling with the idea of a putting a dread in somewhere…I have a DC dread with talons but I could slip on some blood fists if it was worth it.

Also, a Stormraven or two as a gunship to tear it up might work too...but I haven't used them in a game yet.

What do you think?

Any help would be great ;)

Thankee kindly.