New Nurgling needing advice"!

pOwellO

Greetings to all

I am a complete novice when it comes to CSM, and i am looking for advice on where to start in collecting a Deathguard/Nurgle heavy army to compliment my Dark Eldar. I intend to use the Nurglites as an allied detachment to begin with, then expand them to a sizeable forcr in tneir own right. Any advice/suggestions of where to start will be greatly appreciated.

If I were you I'd start by getting 2x7 Plague Marines, either from the box (Finecast) or Chaos/Loyalist marines that have been converted with greenstuff.

There are countless painting guides out there on the net and here on the B&C so take a look around at the stickies, Librarium, etc.

I have some Plague Marines on the way so thaty start. What about a HQ. Im thinking a Sorcerer over s enoa Lord to begin with as my Archon packs enough of a CC punch. Are the psychic powers any good??? Which combos work best?

You could go with a sorcerer, but a Lord will allow you to take PMs as troops, which is pretty important for holding objectives.

If you are hell-bent on using a sorcerer, Nurgle power + biomancy is a good rout to go.

There will be a lord eventually but i personally think a Sorcerer will work best in an allied detachment. A Lord wouldnt really bring anything new to the table at this point. PM's as troops does not bother me yet as CSM's with MON should do fine for objective holding whilst my DE go forth and do what they do best

Perhaps, but our sorcerers are not really good enough to justify taking over a Lord, if you have to choose between the two. Personally I dislike CSMs as objective holders. They don't have defensive grenades, they aren't fearless, and they only have LD 9. That makes them rather unreliable compared to PMs, which require significant resources to budge.