Drop Pods vs Rhinos?

Fallen Avenger

Im going to be running various lists and im fairly new to the gaming side of this hobby, so what are the advantages and disadvantages to these?

Without the Drop Pod Assault rule, I don't see much point in taking a Drop Pod over a Rhino when using our dex.

Mobile cover, and transport to those hard to reach objectives. Plus, I think Rhinos looks so cool :P

If you want a rhino you want some greenwing, if you want some greenwing C:SM is better, so you can even think about a drop pod with DPA.

I personally have a deathwing base list with some SM allies. In my SM allied list I have a dread in a drop pod with a teleport homer, so it can go the first turn and then the deathwing follow it. Then it became a good obstacle to the line of sight, because when you have a dread and 7 termies nex to you, noone shoot to the pod XD.

IMHO in VI edition, with the hull point, rhino it's not a good choice, a razorback is a lot better

Rhinos, because my DIY successor is fluffed as having lost all their drop pods and are unwilling to replace them because they're wasteful compared to rhinos (which is kind of a big deal when you got limited resources).

As for actual in-game effects, drop pods don't really have any advantage over rhinos.

If you want a rhino you want some greenwing, if you want some greenwing C:SM is better, so you can even think about a drop pod with DPA.

I personally have a deathwing base list with some SM allies. In my SM allied list I have a dread in a drop pod with a teleport homer, so it can go the first turn and then the deathwing follow it. Then it became a good obstacle to the line of sight, because when you have a dread and 7 termies nex to you, noone shoot to the pod XD.

IMHO in VI edition, with the hull point, rhino it's not a good choice, a razorback is a lot better