Starting Nurgle but rubbish at modelling

Andrés Pacheco

Well, thinking of starting Nurgle, and never actually had a go at modelling, if truth be told, but I'm British, so I'll be pessimistic and assume the worst :D

Was hoping for some thoughts from the Vets of the Lord of Decay - is going green worth it if you can't use putty etc to give all your models a nasty rotting look - does a lurid paint scheme and some rust/weathering suffice to produce a suitably putrescent Nurgle force, or should I stick with a different God for my first foray, and come back to Papa once my skillz have been sharpened up a bit?

Love the idea of decay and nastiness (I was a student for 3 years after all), but don't think I'm ready to add bloated bellies and rotting limbs just yet. How does that make you feel?? ;)

Well, many of us convert our models, but that doesn't mean you have to as well. There are a lot of Nurgle kits out there- plague marines, plague bearers and Nurglings don't require any conversion work. As you mentioned, if you want to use Nurgle marines, give them a gribbly paint job and some rust.

That being said, I would encourage you to delve into trying some simple conversions. A lot can be achieved by a few easy swaps, with no green stuff necessary. Zombie parts, swords from the plague bearers and judicious use of possessed bits all go a long way toward making your force unique without a lot of fancy putty work.