Given a Rhino, not sure how I want to use it

Jakbal

Hey everybody!

Let me start off by saying that I have very little experience with vehicles in 40k, especially since the introduction of hull points. My brother has given me a rhino, and I've been trying to think how to best use it. I know that the best advice will likely be "use it how it fits your play style" ... but my play style doesn't currently include vehicles beyond my storm raven, so I'm not sure how it fits into my play style. Note that none of my friends use transports (or tanks, really).

My two options, I think, are: buy on upgrade sprue to convert it into a ball predator, or use as transport for my death company. My death company is currently jump pack and mostly pistol / chainsword. I've been thinking about stripping the jump pack and filling them out with more power weapons and using the rhino as transport. I've never used a transport, though, and am worried about survive-ability in 6th edition.

I guess I'm asking what peoples experiences are with rhinos in 6th thusfar?

My current army composition, which is growing right now as I am a beginner, is as follows:

Commander Dante

BA Captain (often played as a Sanguinary Priest)

Librarian

Reclusiarch/Chaplain

Assault Marines (20)

Tactical Marines (20)

Devastator Squad (5)

Assault Terminator Squad (5)

Terminator Squad (5)

Death Company (5; with Jump Packs chainsword and bolt pistol - really want to change this unit a great deal)

Chaplain Lemartes

Storm Raven

Furioso Dreadnought (Librarian, wishing I had made it DC)

Rhino

When I first started I wanted to make a full jump pack army with no vehicles at all. Now, however, I want to add more "shooty" into my game as I am not winning with all my eggs in the assault basket. Also my brother plays Necron and just burns me out of the sky. I know that part of that is my play style and also my unit composition,