questions

greenee22

Hi,

I'm quite new to 40k (about a month) and I have some questions:

- I'm building a terminator squad, and I want at least one chainfist and one power lance in the unit for modelling purposes. now I wonder what to do with the rest of the squad, I guess go assault-ish but how? is a reaper a point-effective weapon?

-in general, what power weapons are good for terminators? ( and why?)

- is it better to deepstrike a unit of obliterators or deploy them? I've done both so far but I don't know...

- is there any fluff to be found about the magma hounds (former knights excelsior) other than the short piece in the codex?

sincerely,

greenee

- I'm building a terminator squad, and I want at least one chainfist and one power lance in the unit for modelling purposes. now I wonder what to do with the rest of the squad, I guess go assault-ish but how? is a reaper a point-effective weapon?

Reaper is probably a decent weapon if you are walking them up the field, however, if you equip them for assault why spend points on a weapon you will probably only fire once or twice? I'd prefer to take the heavy flamer or combi weapons on terminators.

A good mix is, er, good. Axes are cheap ap2 weapons, though slow your initiative, power swords will cut through power armour (of which there is generally a lot off) and mauls raise your str nicely but are only ap4. It depends on what sort of gap you are using them to fill, and what you expect to send them against.

- is it better to deepstrike a unit of obliterators or deploy them? I've done both so far but I don't know...

I find that both methods of deployment have their place, sometimes you will want to walk them up the field taking long range shots, other times 1 unit deep striking in can win the game if at the right time. This all depends on your playing style, opponent, mission and terrain.

- is there any fluff to be found about the magma hounds (former knights excelsior) other than the short piece in the codex?