Greetings from a spikey noob

StrangeGuy

Hi everyone. I'm brand new to Chaos, I picked up the codex, dark vengeance and a box of chaos marines yesterday. Obviously the Dark Vengeance troops loadouts are fairly limited, but I was wondering what you guys suggest as for as a loadout for the extra 10 marines?

It really depends on what Legion/Warband you plan on playing as well. But if you want a basic loadout, alot of people run the 10 marines with a Champ (with your choice of melee weapon), 2 Plasmas/Meltas/Flamers and an icon of whatever looks good to you :D

All of us are still playing with the codex so I personally can't say for sure what is competitive and what isn't, but hopefully this will give you a fairly balanced Marine Squad for starters.

Good luck with us on the dark side, and DEATH TO THE FALSE EMPEROR!!!

-Ifrit

EDIT: Also, if you're happy with the layout of the Dark Vengeance models, you can always use one of those to represent your Aspiring Champs as well. I know alot of players also use the Chosen hamp as a Dark Apostle which looks pretty cool most of the time.

Some people are still going the two Melta route, while most are going the Two Plasma. With the DV set and a box of ten Chaos Marines, it will be far easier for you to build one marine with a Plasma and either use an entire Marine from the Dark Angels minis or to "salvage" his plasma weapon for the squad, as there are no meltas that I am aware of in the DV set and there is only one in the box of CSM. After that, the best thing to do would be to give the Squad the Mark of Nurgle for that +1 Toughness and when loading out your Champion, the best thing to do would be to give him a power weapon. Most people are sticking with either the power sword or power maul as they still let you strike at Initiative. However if you choose and you are willing to spend the extra points, you could give him a Lightning Claw, which lets him re-roll failed To Wound rolls.