Deep Striking and Skies of Blood

LONE9653

Brand new Forum member here... and yet to actually play the table top as well... however I've recently been hooked by a friend to get into the hobby.

I've been looking to make a really agile assault force (as I have no experience in this specific game, my tactics fall on other strategy games I've played in the past, and I have no illusions of grandeur in winning any of my first 20 games)

Back to the point.

As I understand it the Stormraven, is a beast of an assault vehicle. Cost A lot, Does A Lot, gets Shot out of the sky A lot.

From what I under stand if it ever goes to hover mood, survivability goes out the window...

So why not keep it in Zoom mode the whole time, use it as a gunship YAY... except if you wanted to use it as a transport as well, the rules state that units cant disembark from a zooming vehicle... Blood angels have the Skies of Blood to answer this (treated as a DS).

The scenario I propose is a bit intricate and no guarantee that it will work.

Lets say you have a beacon on the table. Your Stormraven is in reserves, rather than fly it out you opt to DS appropriately near the beacon. Still entering from reserves so you declare the speed that it enters Zooming (defense and offense benefits). Once it is on the board safe you declare to unload the troops, an IC and a dread.

As it is considered to be moving at cruising speed... does this allow me to use Skies of Blood? If so does that mean if I place it within the appropriate distance from the original beacon it wont scatter?

I know this can be really slow turn 3 assault. But it may surprise the stuff out of the opponents when you unload all the ravens weapons, a whole squads weapons and the dreads shooting attack.

Even if they shoot the Raven out of the sky during their next turn, hopefully you got a little bit of your moneys worth of fire power and your guys a little closer to your enemies hearts and minds.