How to kill a vindicator with Dark Angels

Lord Squidar

Hi Guys,

I am very new to marines and DA but am a veteran of the game. I am struggling to kill a silly vindicator in my games which is really racking up the kills against me. I have one missile launcher in my army (DV plus a flamer, missile launcher tac squad).

I am planning on getting something specifically anti tank to crush the foolish Aurelia (my mate plays blood ravens)

Option 1 is a speeder with multi melta and missile lauchers, which will rush forward into cover and harass the tank as much as possible. a glass cannon of note but a cheap solution to my woes.

Option 2: a venerable dreadnought with either a TL lascannon or an assault cannon. I like the model, but its pointswise more expensive and i hear varied feedback on them from my friends. people have used them with success by drop podding them into my lines and flaming away, but i've never seen one specifically anti tank.

I would love a predator tank but its out of my budget right now, luckily christmas is around the corner.

Any help or advice?

Vindicator their Vindicator the hell back!

Aha, Nah, I imagine if a Predator is out of your budget, then a Vindicator won't do. Landspeeders are the cheaper (points) option. The Dreadnought has higher armour, but less movement. It's easier to hide from compared to a speeder. Also, the speeder can resort to Frag Missiles if you're against a horde army and have run out of 'large' targets.

The only thing the Dreadnought provides which the speeder does not is a lascannon (albeit a twin linked one). Don't pay the 20 points for venerable. It's not as good now that it only has to lose 3 hull points, and you don't really need it.