Handling GKs with the new codec

AL-PiXeL01

I was wondering if any if you could provide some advice on how to deal with GKs with our new codec.

I thought about sitting back of flooding the intervening area with lascannon beams and plasma bolts, but that'll make me very static. I also thought about fielding either heavy bolters and Dakkafiends to drown the knights in shells even further.

As you can probably tell I have little to no experience going up against GKs so anything would help, especially in the tactics area.

Yeah, just shoot them. They go down with lots of shots. Now that the wound allocating look out sir thing is gone, they are really just very tough, very cheap marines. Do not go close combat with them, and leave the prince at home. You will be fine.

THIS had some suggestions in it. After that, I would say go through the Liber Victorum, look for battle reports involving the Grey Knights and either see what worked or try to figure out what others did wrong. Battle reports are great for learning from second hand use of first hand experience.

I faced GK a few days ago. I had some termies with power axes/fists/combi-weapons lead by a lord in a Land Raider, oblits, a ac/lc/havoc Predator, cultists lead by a lvl 2 sorc, havocs with autocannons (and a lascannon), and a 5ed CSM squad (extra wepons, meltaguns, camp with PF, rhino).

He was really lucky with his sniper assassin, managing something like 10 saves in a row, but on average, the Havocs should have taken that dude out in one turn, maybe two. As it was, it survived two turn of fire, and took out my Land Raider. If it wasn't for the sniper, he would have been hard pressed to do anything vs AV 14 I realised.

Other than that, the GK player had some bad luck and ran away a lot. I just shot his dudes to pieces. Even the autocannons took a toll on his terminators, as I think they killed maybe 5 termies over the course of the battle.