Heraldry

GrandMagnus

Greetings brothers,

So, Im new to DA angels and I was considering how to go along and paint them when I thought of this question. So, obviously, DA officers would have their own heraldry (like in so many other chapters), but I was wondering, would company veterans and members of the 2nd and 1st companies also have their own heraldry or did It become a lost tradition after the HH ended?

I had thought of using golden edges on the pauldrons of the company veteran squads and squad sergeants to make them stand out, but I think heraldry on the right pauldron would also look really good.

Cheers.

I do not think there is any "official" ruling on that. I guess it boils down to your personal take of the background. Would you go for a baroque, ornamental style like the cover of the Dark Millenium box of old, or play it down to a more austere, monk-like look? Your call! :P

The recent DV set certainly has DW and RW with some extra ornamentation...

Welcome to the Rock Brother Anaziel

If memory serves it states in the codex that robes are normally worn by veterans and Sgts but as people may have noticed I tend to use swords as heraldry (single sword, crossed sword, sword with wing etc) and my veterans tend to get text on their armour (PA or TDA) along with some DA bling when the mood takes me :D

I have even been known to add laurel wreath icons on some pauldrons ;)

As Capt S writes it is really up to you where you want to go....

I thought I had read once that induction into the Deathwing gives you the right to bear personal heraldry... so you'd think that would exclude the other company's Sergeants and Vets (but I can't find a source for you). But like Semper said, I think it should come down to personal style. I wouldn't mind giving at least Ravenwing sergeants something.

Here are some of my attempts -