From contingent to Primary: building a space marine army

W0lfie

Hey B&C,

So...I am a veteran tau player who has been using space marine allies since 6th ed began. Right now, I run a libby, a scout sniper squad and a stormtalon alongside my hunter cadre. I am looking to turn this into a larger SM force.

Where do I start? I picked up a tac squad and a razorback box today (haven't assembled them yet) and have ordered Sevrin Loth and Tyberos the Red Wake (because Tyberos makes for a lulzy allied contingent, and there's ALWAYS room for Sevrin Loth), as well as a land raider crusader/redeemer. I'm going to pick up some assault terminators soon, just waiting to see if I get them for xmas first.

Anyways...Any ideas for taking these building blocks, and making them into a viable army? I can definitely introduce as many tau allies as I need to, if that proves necessary.

Tac squad box is a great buy. Razorback you should assemble but not glue the turret, so you can double as a rhino and a razorback, depending on list.

The cheapest option to start a space marine army would be the Dark Vengeance or Assault on Black Reach starter sets. Each of these give you 10 tactical marines (with Dark Vengeance tacs being better due to plasma cannon marine), 5 tactical terminators, and a captain. DV also gives you some bikers (not so good, but fun) and a librarian (great model and very useful), while AoBR provides you with a barebones dreadnought (which, again, you can convert via bitz sites to be any dreadnought you want).

Starter set terminators are especially nice because you can then get some hammers/shields/claws from a bitz site and convert your own budget assault terminators. Stick them in a land raider crusader and you got a decent counter-attack/interception unit that can complement your generally shooty army.