Working Armor into a C:SM List

UltraTacSgt

I am fairly new to 40k and have been slowly building my SM army. I'm up to about 1300pts, mostly infantry; the only armor I have is a single rhino and two speeders (if you can really call that armor). I am entertaining the idea of collecting some armor for my force.

My army is mid range infantry shooting at the moment, with Tacs/Sterns/Tac Terms/Devs/Librarian/Captain/Assault Marines/Scouts/Typhoon Speeders. I can change around heavy/special weapons to make my infantry better vs armor or infantry as needed.

I want my armor to be complementary to my force and not the main attraction. Between Vindicators, Predators, Dreads, and TFC's. Which would be most effective in a footslogging infantry based force, without drawing so much attention that they get slagged first turn. Or maybe having them be fire magnets would help my infantry survive long enough to get the job done.

I know this is a pretty vague question, but what are some general tips/theories/strategies a rookie player should keep in mind about putting armor in their list?

Dreads w/ LC/ML or Rifleman? Double Vindi's advancing behind an infantry line. Double Preds sitting at 36inches and firing away?

Based on your experience playing as SM or against SM; is it all about finding the balance in the list, or are there some things that just tend to work while other things tend to fail?