Ezekiel - Mind Worm

Mantras

So I had this idea:

Ezekiel + 9 man assault squad who take a rhino instead of jump packs. 

Aim: Drive up as fast as possible to enemy HQ, shoot "Mind Worm" out of the access point, and then charge his leader. Marines will be WS6 because of the book of salvation, and with 3 attacks each.

I am a total newb to PLAYING 40k (loved the fluff for years) so please let me know if this is good or bad.

Well, I think your goal would be better with a DWK, veteran or terminator squad, as they are tougher in CC than assault marines. Book of salvation only gives +1 WS too.

you can't charge outof a rhino, but you can outof a land raider. mind-worm him, prescience your own squad, and then maybe use a telepathy power to screw him more.

Maybe I'm missing something, but where are we getting the WS6 from? The Assault Marines are WS4 base. Otherwise it seems like a good idea, but you have to remember a few things:

*A Rhino isn't an assault vehicle,so you'll have to wait a turn to assault after disembarking.

*With the Jump Packs the Marines get Hammer of Wrath, giving them effectively 4 attacks.

*Also, Jump Packs give the ability to re-roll charge distance if they weren't used in the movement phase.

You would risk your transport being charged, as Mind Worm only has a 12" range and must be used in the Shooting Phase.  To use the fire point for Mind Worm you would have to forego disembarking that turn, meaning you would have to wait two turns in order to charge (Use Mind Worm -> Disembark -> Charge)

Land Raider Redeemer (cheapest Landraider) + Ezekiel = 245+145 = 390 points

10 man Assault Squad = 170 points minimum

5 man DWK squad = 235 minimum

Either way it will be expensive, but it could work, I think, in certain situations.  6" move and 6" disembark + 2d6" charge means 19" threat range, and the Land Raider can't really be ignored once it is in range with the Flamestorm Cannons.