Total Newbie interested in starting own DA Army

ZorroRooster

This requires a bit of explanation so please bear with me. While waiting for a locksmith to unlock my car, I learned the very basics of 40k. Being too poor to be able to purchase anything to get me started, I began to read the 40k wiki and just fell in love with the DA flavor and backstory. I'm slowly but surely saving up for the dark vengeance (I think thats the one I mean. The one with space marines and chaos marines). In any case, I'd like to also save up for the DA Codex and build/paint an entire DA army, starting small and building up. I want to play for fun at first and eventually start playing in tournaments. My questions are as follows:

How are Ravenwing and Deathwing armies? Can you effectively merge the two? Where should I start once I have the starter set? What are the best paints to use to get that nice, deep green of the DAs?

I know this is probably the wrong thread to be talking about this particular subject, but to get the most out of the starter set, I was thinking I'd play a merger of chaos marines and Fallen. Are there specific rules for Fallen? How would I treat them within an army of Chaos?

Without trying to sound off putting there is a great source of information all over this forum. msn-wink.gif

The best suggestion I can give you is to spend time browsing the many great threads here for ideas and once you decide you like a certain version/colour scheme by one of the members you can ask them the way they achieved that effect and they will usually be most happy to help you out.

There are just so many answers to your questions it would be a never ending job to try to give you a complete answer.

On the DV (Dark Vengeance) box set, if you only want the DA models then a cheaper option is to buy the individual models/squads from that well known internet auction site otherwise you will have the Chaos models and no idea what to do with them.