Who should man my Aegis?

CheeseWhiz

Hey everybody, new to the forum Vanilla player here with about two years experience. I just started playing around with my newly painted Aegis defense line and was looking for some input on how others run it. I've seen the Telion and sniper scouts is common and its what I use consistently against my winged hive tyrant or daemon prince obsessed nid and chaos players locally but I was thinking of running the gun line with a devastator squad instead. That would give my dev sgt. something to do while his boys plink their missiles downrange next to him. Any thoughts from someone who has run this set up?

Using the devastator sergeant is a good idea, though you will not be using his signum on another model in his squad if he's manning the gun.

If you have vehicles that stay behind the ADL then a Master of the Forge may be useful. BS 5 for firing the gun, with the ability to repair vehicles if the gun is not needed or is destroyed. Bolstering a ruin is also a bonus for an army's firebase. Put him in with a devastator squad for protection, operate the gun, and let the sergeant use the signum on one of the squad.

If you use devastator squad, firstly i should recommend you not to use them. imo they are overpriced. I hope the new codex will change that. Telion and scouts(sniper rifle) is perfect for manning the aegis. They will have 2+ cover save and with BS 5 Thelion will make nearly all shots count with twin linked. Scaouts also can do damage with their rending sniper rifles to both MCs and armours.

Cost efficent is what i say to that unit. You can also switch Telion with a regular sergeant. It will serve you well too.

Nothing wrong with a well built Dev squad. Just don't give them anything but missiles. But that's a debate for another time.

With the quad gun, don't worry about who is manning it. 4 shots, twin-linked with BS4 will net you 3-4 hits most of the time.