Starting Over: Hobby Article

CitadelArmyGuy

I do believe this is my very first hobby thread. Obviously my love for the game comes from the gameplay, even with its imperfect balance (in fact, perhaps the imperfection is why I love it). However, the game is greatly enhanced when everything on the table is cool looking.

Gentlemen, I believe the time has come. I've debated whether to "Start Over" with my painted Blood Angels for about two years. Here's why I've decided to take the plunge:

• I am not a hobbyist. My painting is terrible. Let me rephrase: I can achieve passable results, but it takes me ages to get even one model done.
  • I started playing 8 years ago. My recipe for 'red' has changed 6 times in that timeframe, whether due to getting better as a painter or because paint availability has changed several times (use GW paints...ugh why change all the time!?). The altering recipe means my Blood Angels look even worse than they should since each model's red is slightly or vastly different than the ones around it.
  • 6th Edition means frequently I am allying DA or SW or SM... but without owning those models, the Red for BA makes much less sense. With a unique color scheme, I can explain away the attached rules to those allied units using a 'Divergent Successor Chapter' narrative.
  • GW is producing new Codicies like it is going out of style. Having a 'universal' paint scheme rather than 'Obviously Blood Angel Red' will help prevent the inbound eye-rolls if I ever decide to play around with Vanilla Marines or Black Templars or misc others when their new codex drops.

With that, I've decided that I will be going Army-wide Silver color scheme. Because:

1. Silver is stupidly easy to do quickly (Remember, I'm slow... hurrhurr pinch.gif ). Silver goes on evenly every time even at-speed and you only need one coat on top of a black undercoat