Finally Winning ...

Jakbal

I've been playing for about 18 months now.  Much more time spent in construction / painting than playing matches.  I've played about 12 matches, mostly consisting of 750 point battles.  

Up until last month I had zero wins.  Part of that is not knowing how to play (generic tactics and rule knowledge) and also playing mostly generic stuff (i.e. bolter marines, and BP/CS Assault Marines with a Captain or Chaplain and a Furioso DN).  My wife went out of town for a week, though, and I put together a Rhino, some more of our HQs, many more RAS, and a devastator squad.  Also I moved my DC from jump pack to regular bolter marine DC.

I have now won 3 matches in a row (last night it was a 1250 point match).  I think most of this has to do with me actually getting into CC with my opponents, and also having better weapon selection all around (my devastator squad has proved to be brutal).  Even though I never won any matches before, I definitely studied up on how my friends play the game, and my army has now been designed to counter that.  In addition, we are using a TON more terrain now ... which is great as it provides cover for my approaching squads.

My army looks good, and now I'm playing it well.  Makes me happy.

My army looks good, and now I'm playing it well.  Makes me happy.

This is great and important. :)

That's good to hear. Congratulations. Small amounts of terrain favors the shooty armies. A

ny time soon we will be shouting for battle reports and stuff. :)

Awesome job! It's always good to see us underdog BA players getting out of the losing well. Just remember, every failure handled with a degree of reflection is a weapon for the next battle. thumbsup.gif