Are mass-zombie armies good?

Roma

I cannot say that I have played zombie hordes but I have extensive experience with IG hordes. You have bodies, you have resilience and you have the possibility to simply drown your adversaries with your dice numbers. All in all the strategy combined with the basic USR given to zombies and paired with a Helldrake or two will grant you a number of victories. So yeah on paper such an army is a powerhouse...but...

Have you ever tried to place 140 models at the start of a game, move at least a hundred of them each turn and roll hundreds of dice per turn...well here is why I have moved from IG hordes to a more manageable PA army. It tires you, it tires your opponent and makes for a very boring game. 

So you will win by mathematics more than to skill, bodies, attacks and saves are in your favor, you are bound to win most fights or to outlast your adversaries by numbers alone, and I guarantee you that if you do not outright win you will have at least most of the objectives covered and plenty of secondary objectives completed, which will always rent you a good position in your club boards. So if you loose you will loose by a small margin for hardly anything has the power and the numbers to deal with 130+ units. 

So it is an interesting experience, great for beginner players but less so for your adversaries who will be bored by turn two.

its all relative. most lists are designed to kill marines and not hordes, so most lists want be able to deal with that many models. play tons of zombies and you'll win a few games until all the space marine players start breaking out 3x thunderfire cannons the space wolves players start taking 15 missile launchers ork players can take 9 kannons and play the same list just better ect  and tabling you in a few turns. thats the problem with 1 trick armys.