The Viablity of a pure DW army.

[TA]Typher

I love playing pure Deathwing.

Ok, I'll admit I'm not a pro player. I don't play in tourneys and when I play I play for fun. I help my opponent, give him advice, I'm even willing to lose instead of not reminding them about something they missed.

With all that said I have yet to win a game with a pure Deathwing army under the new Codex. I've only played a three games so far with them, each has been a loss. The first Vs orks was close until the end, and I was basically tabled on turn 6. It was a good game despite the loss. It was a dramatic up-hill battle, but I actually had a chance to win.

My next two games have been against tau. Both times I was tabled. Neither game was close. Neither game was fun. Reviewing both games and talking to my opponents I really don't think I had a chance to win either game. The survivability of a PURE DW army seems really bad. Both times I ran with a BoF, I dunno, but it seems almost a necessity. Without being able to bring more units close in a timely manor and forcing the Tau to make hard choices on who to shoot, it seems that the design of the DW is really flawed. Even running a landraider didn't seem to help. Castling Tau, and some of the over the top rules they have seems really unbalanced.

Missing an extra 3+ invul save on my Sgt. didn't help either.

My List.

Belial + 5 DWK in a Crusader

This gives me 3 units on the board.

In reserve, command squad with the Bof, Hvy Flamer and a couple TH/SS

7 man unit Term Squad (CML, 3 TH/SS, 1 Sgt with horrible standard loadout)

Placing only the Landraider on the board really limits my options, but what are my options? Foot slot across the board? I tried that... it was a bad idea. Out shoot the Tau? I don't need to be rainman to know that is a fail-plan. With the "new" DW rule vengeance strike you really lose out if you don't DS them.