Thinking nurgle

Submarine

I am thinking about starting a chaos space marine army. I am drawn to nurgle because I like the decay and disease mythology and the models.

I am new to 40k having been a fantasy player and do want an army that is competitive. I will be facing necrons a lot but also orks and blood angels.

Can you give me an idea if the nurgle CSM are a good build and their tactical options. How the army plays etc.

Thanks for any help.

There are many popular choices for us in Nurgle, such as a Nurgle bike Lord is always a popular choice; tool him up with a Black Mace and Burning Brand of Skalathrax and he'll be a mean character.
There is so much in the CSM codex that is great for Nurgle, and you can have fun doing it. It all really depends on your play-style and what you want your army to be like :).

- Malatox

How competitive are your necron players? Necrons have a few play styles. But all in all you can usually forget about beating them in close combat due to necron lords mindshackle scarabs and wraithes. They also have alot of S6/7 weaponry spam (these attacks also jump onto nearby units). They can play alot of flyers. They can potentialy ensure it is night fight. Etc etc etc. If they play the usual competitive lists, I don´t see all that many armies being better. 

What you have to field is basically what is good in the chaos codex. So as many heldrakes as you can and obliterators with MoN to stock up on melter. Then resilient troops, if zombies are a no go, this is of course a shame. Then you would have to go with a chaos lord with MoN. I´ll have to admit that I have had success with a ML 3 Sorceror who debuffed the wraithes toughness allowing me to instant death them much quicker and also making the destroyer lord less resilient.