Are Sanguinary Priests overpriced?

teblin

Hey all,

I'm new to the BA Codex and I've been playing BA for less than 2 weeks.

The SP's base cost, 50 points, seems rather a lot for what is essentially a normal Marine that confers FnP and Furious Charge to nearby squads. Sure, back when FnP was 4+ and FC gave +1 Ini as well as Str I could see the reason for it, but now in 6th Ed it seems rather expensive for what it is. Sure, FnP and FC are great buffs, but spending 50 points (and then 25 for a JP if you want one) seems a tad pricey.

Is it just me, or should the SP get a price reduction since FnP and FC got some pretty bad nerfing?

Definitely not!

Most units in the game pay 30 points as an upgrade to get feel no pain alone, on a character that does not get a 2+ look out sir. Independent character who can leave the unit and still grant them both Feel no Pain and Furious Charge is very, very nice tactically. Even well kited out, a sanguinary priest is still a good bang for the buck.

Base of 50 points isent all to much imho. Specialy when you see how many wounds they (generally) prevent from going through its decent. I agree that 25 pts for the pack is abit much though. Are dark angel packs priced differently? ermm.gif

FnP actually got better, because while its now only 5+, it now applies to stuff which denies an armor save.  In 5th, power weapons and plasma weapons didn't allow FnP saves.  (Looking back, in 4th plasma did but power weapons didn't, and I recall that being true in 3rd as well, so FnP applies to more now than it ever did in the past).

FnP applied to close combat attacks that denied armour saves but not shooting ones hence you did get it against plasma :)

You generally get the FnP against more things now but against small arms fire and normal close combat attacks (say from a mob of orks) the save got worse.