Command Squad

Adper

I want to add a command squad with Standard of Devastation to my army for obvious reasons.  I'm still pretty new to 40k and was wondering how some of you outfit your Squad.  I know a lot of it comes down to points, but do you include Combi weapons, or power weapons in the squad?  I imagine that most opponents will target the command squad before other tactical squads nearby to try and kill the banner, so is it wise to take an apothecary for Feel No Pain?

Also, is the Apothecary's wargear limited to only a chainsword?

Depends how you'll play your squad.

I play mine in a Crusader flanked with 2 other crusaders and 2 squad of troops bikes. So I don't need an apothecary. I've given them 4 flamers cos when I disembark I lose the effect of the banner and I wanted them to keep a decent firepower.

But yeah, an apoc could be good if you plan to create a gunline in your deployment zone. In this case he does keep only his chainsword...

4 Combi-Flamers and the Standard behind an Aegis Defence Line. Comes to 205 points but gives you four Bolters (16 shots just from the Command Squad!) and 4D3 automatic hits against anyone cheeky enough to try and take you out in an assault. It's a nice deterrent, especially against horde armies who will have already have suffered a turn or two of your awesome anti-infantry firepower before getting into assault range.

If I desperately need to save points however, I'll ditch the Combi-Weapons and stick to Bolt Pistols and Chainswords; they're still Veterans after all so again they stand a decent chance of fighting off any unit that survives long enough to get into assault range. You must remember that most such units won't be coming in at full strength against a Dark Angels gunline, if they make it at all devil.gif

After the rules update, am I not right in thinking that the SoD doesn't work on bolt pistols, only bolt guns?