Good Blood Angel Allies

Kandyman

Hey i'm a bit new to 40k and i have been looking at mixed armies with BT and DA counter-parting the BA ( I know there are others). I was just curious, what are good ally options for the Blood Angels and why. I know that the BA are a fast assaulty type army and I like that. I normally run a sort of jumpy list with mm attack bikes and AM with priests and a mix of other things... don't want to get to in depth. But i do like the fact that they are good with the assault and are very quick to the punch. Like i said i am new to the game and don't know much about other armies out there and i would really like to know what there strengths are and how they could compliment what the Blood Angels already have. I have quite a bit of flexibility considering a have about 4000 pts already and am open to any options or advice on possibilities of Blood Angels allies. Any advice would be appreciated!

I strongly recommend Imperial Guard. For a low low price, you get the main thing Blood Angels never get on their own: numbers. You can fill your backfield, hold objectives, bubble wrap tanks, plus get one of the best units in the game (Vendetta) for just ~400 points.

I understand DAs have some good synergies with us, but for my money, it's IG or bust.

Ive found that I love keeping to the marine theme, so i stick to SM/DA/BT/SW in that order of preference - more for fluff reasons than efficacy!

BT i would have in much more often if it werent for that damned no-psyker rule.  

They provide cheap troops, and some great HQ and elite support options.

DA are currently the best as far as marines go for cheap SM troops.  90 points nets you a 5man lascannon squad or 120 nets you 10 sniper scouts- which is great.

If you fancy being heretical and Xenos, Necrons are a good choice. A devastation barge and some immortals can hold on to an objective like hell, and can be even better if given some aegis lines and a quad gun.