Drop Pod/Deep Strike... Rules for 6th

Bowlzee

I am new to 6th (last played 3rd edition). I have been told that you must field at least 50% of your force on the table at game start... Is this true?

If true, I imagine Grey Knight Deep Strike army, or a Drop pod army is no longer viable?

Units in a vehicle that must start in Reserve do not count toward the 50% unit limit, nor does the vehicle. Units that have a choice to start in Reserve, such as Terminators (even Deathwing Assault units), do count toward the 50% limit.

If you have no units on the board at the end of any game turn, including turn one, you automatically lose. If you still want to do this I'd recommend you check with your opponent first if he's willing to waive this rule lest you both end up wasting your time. If he decides not to then amend your plans accordingly and get the game going :)

Dont forget Drop-Pod Assault - half of your drop-pods will automatically turn up in your turn 1 - as long as you have enough models there that your enemy cannot wipe them all out in his turn 2 (or his turn 1 if you have first go) you are likely to successfully have a unit or two turn up in turn 2...

Armies that can affect reserve rolls (either their own like Blood Angels with DoA, or IG with fleet officers giving a -1 to enemy reserve rolls) will affect the usefullness of this tactic.

Sorry, I should have clarified I was talking about the rule rather than your musings on plans - Leonaides has the right of it. Just don't make a tiny contribution to your deployment; even being out of line of sight can't protect you from everything!

Wait, I have a question. Lets say I have an all drop pod army with one storm raven carrying a squad. I was under the impression that only dedicated transports that have to come from reserves were exempt from the 50% rule. Therefore the storm raven can't carry anything. Some clarification and page numbers to rules/faqs would be appreciated.