Razorback builds and merits

bellator

Basically I wanted to have a discussion about razorback assault squads and the role they fill in a BA army. Honestly, I am having trouble finding their merit and hope someone could show me the bloo....er, light!

I would say that their glaring weaknesses are thin armor and low transport capacity. Strengths include their speed and ability to outfit the squad and the back with decent weaponry. So then how are they to be used, particularly in an army where razorback squads are the only troops and objective claimers in your list. I'm pretty new to BA and 6E, but as far as I can tell, these are the uses.

Pure objective grabbers, hanging in the backfield to rush towards objectives at the end of the game.

-Self explanatory. Also very boring confused.gif

Mounted ranged squad.

- Basically creating some synergy between the Razorback's weapon and the squad's special weapons. My concern here is that the range on the squad's special weapons (thinking flamer's and melta's) may bring it closer to the enemy than is ideal for such a small squad and weak vehicle skin, and that neither would survive long, robbing you of an objective claiming element no less.

Delivering assault troops to close combat.

- I'm skeptical that even a Razorback with a Lucifer pattern engine could get a squad in range to assault without getting popped first. Then there is the problem of the 6 marines surviving a turn of fire outside of their transport. Then there is the issue of 6 marines actually doing much damage in combat. Finally, I'm also concerned with the idea that if you are using a troops slot as a dedicated combat unit, there is a good chance they won't be around to claim objectives later.

I love the models, the mech aspect, and the specific BA aesthetic that goes with the Lucifer engines. Please someone tell me how to use these squads to good effect!