Any DA advice for a noob?

Deathstrike_Chimera

Hey all,

I'm just starting out with DA and the game in general and was wondering if any of you vets could give some advice on how to progress with a DA army. I have a tac squad some termies and a ravenwing squad along with some cheap hqs. I'd like to build a shooty army but don't know what I think about deathwing vs ravenwing.What should I invest in? I know I need another tac squad, but should I get a devastator squad for support? What about termies vs bikes? (I'm looking to make a 1500 pt army by the way)

A devastator squad paired with a divination libby will definitely help you in a shooting army.

I personally love deathwing or ravenwing, though the shooting power of deathwing will struggle with many larger targets unless you arm them with heavier weapons. If your going for pure shooting i wouldn't include many of them, it's better to fit in more troops or heavy support for the points you'd spend on them.

EDIT: Get the banner mate, it's definitely worth it! thumbsup.gif

Hmm, I'd see if you can get a couple more sets of the Dark Angels from the Dark Vengeance starter (from friends or ebay?) - three of each squad plus a few characters for conversion is a great start.

Then, maybe a Terminator Command Squad box, a Reclusiam box, and a Ravenwing Black Knights box.

Not only should that lot keep you busy and your wallet suitably empty, but you'll have a really solid start on each aspect of the Dark Angels:

3 Tactical squads + Command Squad (this has a banner)

3 Deathwing Terminator squads + Command Squad (this has a banner, can make Deathwing Knights of you prefer)

3 Ravenwing Bike squads + Command Squad (this has a banner, can make Black Knights of you prefer)

3 Librarians (consider putting one on a bike)

3 Company Masters (consider converting two of them to other weapon fits)