New Player Seeking to Learn and build an Army

Landrick

Hello! This will probably be a little long, as there is quite a bit I don't understand. I appreciate your help!

First off, I am new to the hobby, starting off with the Dark Vengeance set (then i picked up another tac squad and a dread from ebay).

I just played my first game Sunday at my FLGS with a nice fellow i met that showed me the ropes. I really had a great time!! I can't wait to play again. I feel like I learned a lot, but also walked away with a lot of questions as I digested the game we played. I will use bullet points to make it more readable:

Learned:

-I need Rhinos/Razorbacks for mobility

-A Dread with Missile Launcher/Lascannon is not sufficient AV against 2 Dreads and 2 Rhinos

-I hate Grim Resolve. It seemed to only serve to get my Tacs stuck in with his Chaos Lord. Thus condemning 2 (5man) squads to unwinnable fights.

-Having a Librarian footslog into no man's land is a bad idea

-Ravenwing mobility is sweet.

-Hammer of Wrath is sweeter.

-Teleporter Homers register off the sweetneess scale (Deep Striking precisely onto Difficult Terrain to hammer some CSM? yes please)

-Deathwing Assualt is amazing, and even better against Chaos

-YOU CAN ONLY CHARGE WHAT YOU SHOOT!!!!!! (I kept forgetting this one)

-I really like the DW/RW. I like their tactical options and striking power most of all. Greenwing, not so much.

-Cover is important for saving against plasma

Questions: (for questions on rules, i think an example from the game would be most helpful for me to understand, thanks!)

-If i split fire (with my terminators) can I assault either target?

-Is there anything good about Grim Resolve?

-How does the 'Scouts' special rule work? (RW have it)

-And 'Outflank' for that matter, as I understand 'Scouts' confers it?

-Just to be sure, can you explain Hammer of Wrath?