Noob shooting phase question

Hey guys,

So I'm pretty much a complete noob having only played a few games and have a question about the shooting phase. So, if your opponent has models with different weapons, you CAN target a specific troop, right? Like if you have a troop with a plasma rifle and one with a bolt gun you could try to take out the plasma first? The only reason I ask is because some war games I've played assume that a soldier in the unit would pick up the fallers equipment to maximize combat efficiency (e.g. A space marine would pick up his brothers plasma rifle since it's more effective than his bolter.) Im Sure this is an inane question that is super obvious but I just thought I'd ask to clarify. I just wasn't sure because I know your unit has to all shoot at the same enemy unit but I'm not sure if you can specify which actual soldier is shooting another specific soldier.

The answers you seek are on page 15 of the rule book (allocating wounds in shooting) and page 63 (precision shots).

But for a quick explanation, it's unit vs unit.  You get to choose which order the shots are resolved in (for instance, all your bolter shots first, or all your plasma shots first, or your missile launcher shots first, etc) but you do not get to allocate each shot individually.  The models in the target unit are removed/take their saves starting with the ones closest to the firing unit.  If you get a to-hit roll of 6 with a sergeant or anyone with the Character unit type, then that counts as a precision shot - in which case, you do get to choose the specific model that is hit.