Lord on Helldrake.... how to make it work

cescobig

Hello brothers,

Ive been toying with a idea of making a lord riding a helldrake...

Now wondering how to make it viable.... as im a newb gamer im not sure how to score it etc... like could it be a lord with a demonic steed, not sure how to work it out but i figure with the helldrakes pose it looks like it should be ridden,

Either way the idea of a lord zooming round the field on the back of a helldrake is exciting.

What does everyone think....any advice muchly appreciated

Give the lord a disk of tzeentch, fly him around next to the drake.

Or disk + burning brand is a small flying thing that shoots fire. Pseudo drake?

Or use DP rules to represent the combined model of PA dude on top of smaller mechanical dragon.

I think Xenith hit the nail on the head with the disk and brand.

Can't wait to see how it looks when  you get him built.

Also I may now have to buy a Blood Throne so I can have a Bloodletter riding a drake....my wallet demands vengeance.

Yeah cheers for the input guys very helpful, i surely will post it up once donen yes i did see the chaos night riding the manticore which is where i got the idea, and although i have seen peoples thoughts on its pose, i think it will look quite suited to carrying a rider.

Plus i hadnt thought of a dp on it so i will suss that option out too

I would just use it as a Heldrake. Those Swoop attacks are mean enough that they could represent your Lord, and just give your Lord a big flamer and have that count-as the baleflamer.
That thing is huge, and I mean, my Lord on Jetbike with an underslung flamer 'count-as' a Lord on Disc. Having the drake count-as a Disc is a bit like mounting your lord on the roof of a Rhino and saying the rhino count-as a bike. The size is so off it can seriously affect game-play.