The biggest threats to our Land Raiders

SnaRf.za

So...

This is just a quick post to list some of the things that I have had issues with and possibly some ways to deal with them:

I am no expert in Mathhammer, but I try...

1) Necrons

- Gauss and Haywire is dangerous.

- Ghost Arks with Warriors inside and a Cryptek with Voltaic staff is stupidly effective at 12"

i) Up to 12", assuming 5 warriors in the Ark

* 30 gauss flayer shots, 3+ to hit, 6 to glance should give ~1.73 glances (Normally closer to 2-3 glances)

* 4 Voltaic Staff shots, 3+ to hit, 2+ to glance, 6 to Pen is normally another ~1 glance and ~1 penetrate.

= Total: ~2.73 glances and ~1 penetrate.

ii) 12"-24", assuming 5 warriors in the Ark

* 15 Gauss Flayer shots, 3+ to hit, 6 to glance should give ~0.86 glances

(At 12" these guys take my LR's out in 1 shooting phase almost every time. Let's not even
talk about how easily Necron players seem to roll 6's....)

Their Achilles heel in my opinion is to make them move:

- If the Arks moved up to 6" they snap-fire half of their shots with no effect on the passengers.

* 10 gauss flayer shots, 6 to hit, 6 to glance should give ~0.14 glances

* 20 gauss flayer shots, 3+ to hit, 6 to glance should give ~1.15 glances

* 4 Voltaic Staff shots, 3+ to hit, 2+ to glance, 6 to Pen is normally another ~1 glance and ~1 penetrate.

= Total: ~2.3 glances and ~1 penetrate compared to ~2.73 glances and ~1 penetrate.

ii) 12"-24", assuming 5 warriors in the Ark

* 5 Gauss Flayer shots, 6 to hit, 6 to glance should give 0.07 glances

* 10 Gauss Flayer shots, 3+ to hit, 6 to glance should give 0.58 glances

= Total: ~0.65 glance compared to ~0.86 glance

(Not too much of difference if they only need to move 6")

- If the Arks moved over 6" they AND the passengers snap-fire ALL shots.

* 30 gauss flayer shots, 6 to hit, 6 to glance should give ~0.43 glances

* 4 Voltaic Staff shots, 6 to hit, 2+ to glance, 6 to Pen is normally another ~0.23 glance and ~0.05 penetrate.