Trouble with Game Lists and Rulings.

Hey, while I've been playing on and off for about two years now, something has been constantly nagging at me. A lot of gameshops in my area have their own rules, some mix GW, some use full GW.

Does anyone have a preference to certain rules, because I'm trying to figure out which works best.

While this tends be slightly off-putting, a major issue seems to be that they all agree on having lists built using Army Builder. This has caused me problems, as over time certain armies have been heavily nerfed, or flat out under-powered with changes implemented by this program (I can easily list a few things done to BT's on Army Build that fill me with seething rage).

I'm in need of an honest opinion. Should I build my army based off of what is in the books (Codex: Black Templars and IA) or Army Builder?

I would say go for the Codex brother, unless your gaming group has house ruling that they feel are mandatory.

Unfortunately, if you don't feel comfortable with their way to play the game, you might have to find yourself a new place to play :/

I rarely have seen mistakes with army builder.  For the most part the people the write for it do a great job, but they haven't updated it for 7th yet.  As for a side note I tend not to trust most peoples lists that are written  instead of using programs like army builder.  Back to topic the group I play with uses most of GW's rules with few changes that are usually discussed before the game.

Army Builder is not changing your BT or rules with the BT list.  It may be outdated and of course does not include 7th edition files right now, but it does not nerf or make armies underpowered.

Army builder has been known to 'interpret' the rules, and make decisions that didnt match up with rulings from GW, or any tournament with a FAQ before.