The Blood Angel Battleforce boxed set, good start?

Helias_Tancred

Need some advice on starting a BA Army (and I'm very new to the hobby- but very familiar with all the fluff b/c I've read many of the WH40K books).

1. I already have a Blood Angels Death Company boxed set. I have 5 figures I can make either tactical or assault DC. I'm assuming go with the latter?

2. Is the $110 Blood Angel Battleforce boxed set a good move to make on starting a BA army?

3. Which Blood Angel leader would work best as a HQ for the above forces? Dante? Corbulo? or Mephiston?

So I'm thinking keep my DC boxed set, get the BA Battleforce, and get a leader type ... that will give me a decent starting BA Army? Of course sorta lower on points but I just want to get into the hobby.

Thanks.

I personally think the BA Battleforce (IIRC consists of Tacticals, Death Company, Assault Squad, Rhino) is a great starting point, but you can probably find it at a discount online which will make it an even better value.  If you already have a DC boxed set, that means you have 25 PA models, 15 jump packs and a ton of extra bits to BA-ify them across the board.  That should give you a lot of flexibility as to what to do with them.

Corbulo is not an HQ, Dante or Mephiston would not make a good HQ for this base.  I'd suggest you pick up a Chaplain model of your chice and go with that.  You can't go wrong with a BA Reclusiarch/Chaplain.

This set contains a Tactical Squad, an Assault Squad, a Death Company Squad and a Rhino dedicated transport vehicle.

I always used to think it kinda sucks, but now I am not so sure.

Personally I am not a fan of Tactical Marines, my Troops are usually a combination of ASM and DC.

I am thinking about buying a Battlebox to make the following:

Perhaps 10 DC with JP and Bolter (already have 20+ models with Pistol, Chainsword and JP) if they get better.

Another 10 DC DC without JP but with Chainsword/pistol for in my transports.