Thoughts of a BA noob - expanding deathstorm

marvmoogy

Hi guys, 

Although not new to 40k by a long shot, I am new to BAs.  I guess I am GWs ideal hobbyist... "oooh, Deathstorm looks nice...dammit, two more new armies...."  but that's buy the buy (see what I did there?)...

I started to think about expanding it to a 1500-2000 point force.  I've looked through the codex and, as the various sections (excluding Troops) are pretty jam-packed, it gave me a bit of a headache!  

With fast Rhinos and Razorbacks, the BA's offer a tempting mechanised list.  However, to my mind, there are problems with this.

Rhinos

+ can hold 10 Marines

+ 2 shots from the top hatch in addition to the storm bolter

+ cheap!

+ repair

- Shots fried from the top hatch lack range when transporting Death Company

- Not an assault vehicle - Death Company need to weather a storm of fire / risk getting assaulted after they have disembarked

Razorbacks

+ heavily armed for the points

- only holds 6 marines

- Not an assault vehicle as above

- no repair

- too expensive to just carry 6 marines

Drop pod

+ Drop pod assault

+ Deathwind Launcher (good anti-horde)

- Immboile

- Not an assault vehicle

The biggest problem with all of these to my mind is that they don't allow the unit using them to assault when they disembark.  For this you need an assault vehicle and, from our 'dex, that means a heavy support choice.   Land raiders are, to my mind, too slow.  Storm Ravens are, to my mind, too vulnerable....and that's before we mention cost.  Even without any upgrades, you can get 7 Rhinos for the price of a raider.

So, do you play as fluff intended and take a mechanised / drop pod force and stand around for a turn before assaulting, or do we go down the jump pack route?  Can we go and get the best of both worlds?  This is going to be the big question for a lot of people and, for me, I see myself building an army along the lines of the below: