Has anyone used Despoiler Squads?

Kilofix

Has anyone used Despoiler Squads to any good effect?

Like Tactical Squads with Bolt Pistol and Chainsword only (no Bolter, no JumpPack)?

I myself have usually only run Tacs with BG/BP or Tacs with BG/BP and the additional CC on top of that. But then, with the latter, I usually just end up shooting mostly and only rarely get into CC.

But would cheap Despoilers (as opposed to Tacs w/BG/BP/CC or Assault Squads) that focused on running into combat be any good for their points cost? What about with Land Raider support?

Thanks for the opinions.

Get a 20 man Despoiler Squad into a Land Raider Spartan with an Apothecary and Chaplain and your looking at a pretty scary unit, imo. AFAIK, you can Fury of the Legion with Bolt Pistols too (?).

That said, no, I have no real experience with using them.

You can Fury of the Legion with Bolt Pistols, but you may only make a Fury of the Legion attack "...so long as they did not move, arrive via Deep Strike or disembark a vehicle earlier in the player turn."

So unless you're sitting waiting for your opponent to stand patiently in front of you to charge, that's not really a viable option. Might be if after wiping out a unit you find yourself in the middle of the enemy, but it's pretty unlikely to happen.

I've been using mostly Despoilers. Close combat in case of marines is much more effective than bolter shooting, having CCW gives you 1.5 times more attacks, and part of them is AP2-AP3 (Sergeant + Apothecary). With shooting, it takes way more turns to wipe out enemy unit than just charging it.

I would not go with Spartan, for the price of Spartan you can just run another 20-strong+Apothecary unit.

And of course I'm trying to avoid any shooting before the charge, because you can kill couple of models in front of enemy unit and fail a charge by exactly that 1-2 inches.