Anyone using heavy weapons in their tactical squads?

templargdt

I've been enjoying using scouts as my troops for two years or so now, but I've finally managed to finish stripping and repainting some of my tactical marines and want to start using them again.

So, to the point.  Is anyone actually buying them a heavy weapon, or just special and matching combiweapon?  

I sort of want to use a heavy bolter, because I love the model.  I just doubt I'll get much use out of it.

Ah, the eternal dilemma. For what its worth, you probably DO want a heavy weapon, as Tacticals with just a special and a combi are rather underwhelming... well, even more so than usual.

I'd go with the following template:

10 Tacticals - Plasmagun, Plasma Cannon, Drop Pod.

The Plasma Cannon guy chucks the squad's grenade on the turn the squad lands. After that, they sit still and go pew pew!

I usually give mine a ML. It's cheap and versitile and basically gravy. My priority with tac marines is always to maximize bolter/special/combi shots. If that means snap firing the ML, not much lost. If however I'm stationary that turn anyway, I can add it to any bolter fire, or if nothing is in range, take a shot at a vehicle somewhere.

I occasionally use a plasma cannon instead. Same theory. My priority is to use my rapid fire/special weapons optimally, but if u do end up stationary, the plasma template synergizes nicely with the tacticals' anti infantry role.

Also, I like plasma. A lot.

I tend to use 5 man squads with a heavy weapon more in 7th then any other kind.   My favourite is a Lascannon (Ultramarines doctrine) sat in some good cover and on an objective, with a combi-grav on the sergeant.  This squad is especially good for sniping transports or lone characters, but I find it's pretty damn dangerous against the scary stuff that comes close.