New kits

Jorre

As a long term BA player I have not assembled/painted any new blood angel marines since long before the release of the new vanguard vets, sternguard vets and our own new tacticals.

I am currently working on some new tacticals to modernise my army and make my force look more cohesive with my current painting style!

All I can say is I am blown away with these newer marine kits! The crisp clean lines and detail make them amazing models to work with. I have a bits collection that stretches back some 8-9 years I could probably assemble an entire company if I wanted to without buying any new models. I doubt I will ever use most of these bits though as the new stuff is so good I could not imagine ever going back to the old stuff!

Assembley is a breeze, there is hardly any flashing or clean up work required so that alone saves heaps of time . although I didn't find the true magic until I started painting. Any parts from the latest kits are just so cleanly cut you can really tell the difference when you are painting. The washes flow into the details better, you have less leakage if you apply to much! Also the when highlighting or working around the edges of other colours, I found I was getting paint in the wrong spot far less often.

I think because of the sharper more defined edges the paint is far more likely to go where you want it to! This has increased my confidence and sped up the whole process for me. The paint job looks better to! I actually feel like a better painter even though I havnt really improved!

If you havnt tried these new bits out give it a go!

I've only had the new Tact box, but I really liked the bitz in there.

But some of the parts don't line up with older stuff (chest/back pieces have the peg/slots reversed), so definately dry fit first

I noticed that to!

You can cut the pegs of and position them yourself though

I've only had the new Tact box, but I really liked the bitz in there.