Adding a terminator squad, need some advice.

Helias_Tancred

Hail Brothers!

I have the Blood Angel half of the Deathstorm boxed set. I'm finally getting a terminator squad. I've heard a lot of pros and cons regarding terminators. When I looked at their weapon stats it appears their powerfists, chainfists, and the Captains hammer are all very good as anti-armor, and they also have some ranged capability .... so I have a question- Should I build and equip the terminator squad as they are in the set, or get some thunder hammers and shields from eBay and run them as assault terminators? Their dedicated transport will be my Land Raider Redeemer.

I've never used terminators before and I wanted to build them in a way I'd get the most mileage out of them.

Thanks.

Terminators with Hammers and Shields provide a really good unit at taking on dangerous targets like monstrous creatures and other elite infantry but really need a transport to get them there as they will be quite a fire magnet. Be wary of them getting bogged down or in combat with hordes of combat units such as Ork boyz or Hormagaunts; those 2+ saves will inevitably fail when your opponent throws a bucket full of dice at them.

'Regular' Terminators are a bit more versatile  in that they have some good shooting options such as the Cyclone missile launcher and the Heavy flamer which coupled with their Storm Bolters can make them a good deep striking squad to deal with your opponents back field objective campers. They can also hold their own in combat against most things, just be careful of getting them into a scrap with anything ap2 as that 5+ invulnerable save isn't reliable.

Hey sorta on topic, but how many terminators can a Land Raider Redeemer hold? 5 or 6?

Thanks.

6 becuase it can hold normally 12 but because terminators are bulky they can only hold 6. Just enough for an assualt terminator squad with librarian/ chaplain.