Battle Report: 600pts - Crimson Slaughter vs Harlequins

Lucio

First up, this is my first attempt at writing a battle report, so appologies if it doesn't flow very well. Hoping to gain some insight by writing these and sharing the experiences will also benefit others.

The game was a straight up fight against the local store manager's Harlequins, after getting a rough run down of his force for the sake of fairness (as he's primarily a Chaos player himself), we got stuck in

NB: The psychic phase will be omitted in the write up because he failed to manifest a single power all game.

The Lists

Crimson Slaughter

Chaos Lord - MoS, LC, Bike

5 Noise Marines - BlastMaster, 3 x Sonic Weapon

Rhino with Havoc Launcher and a Combi Plasmagun

20 x Cultists with Autoguns

3 x Bikers - Power Maul, 2 x Meltagun

Predator - Autocannon and Heavy Bolters

Harlequins

Solitare

Death Jester

Shadow Seer

2 x Jetbikes

2 x Transport jetbikes (no idea on the proper name here)

Deployment

He wins the dice roll and choses to go first, promptly setting up behind cover and could easily go either way around the centre terrain. My forces are arrayed on the hill, with the Predator and Rhino holding the left flank, the Bikers on the far right, Noise Marines in heavy cover with the cultists left out in the open with huge shoot me now signs attached.

Turn 1

His forces break cover to the left, towards the Rhino and Predator. Given his disbelief at the three weapons on the Rhino he's made it his main target, ignoring the more dangerous Predator and Noise Marine squads.

Unfortunatlely he forgot to measure his shooting when moving and only his jetbikes are in 24" range but manage to inflict 2 glancing hits with haywire launchers. The transport jetbikes turbo boost into cover