New to WH and BAs, escalating army list?

Paikis

Hi folks,

I'm new to WH40K. I've read the Horus Heresy, and love the modelling side, but have only 1 game under my belt with the old Assault on Black Reach marines that I borrowed from a friend to play. He ended up giving me those marines (They're still painted blue, which will have to change at some point) and I've bought a few other models, but I actually want to play some games, so I've decided to use what I have as a starting force and then build my army up from there. Towards this end I have a couple army lists that I've thrown together, starting at 500pts and going all the way to 1850 (for now).

So, here's the 500pt list with an eye towards trying to use models that will be useful even at 1850+ points.

Chaplain w/ jump pack (This could also be a captain, Sang Priest or Librarian)

5x Tac marines with heavy flamer and a rhino

5x Tac marines with heavy flamer and a rhino

5x death company with jump pack and Thunderhammer

I wanted to get some Death Company in my army because without the special troops, I might as well just play ultramarines. I did have some questions about this list though.

Firstly, at this level of points, is it worth spending such large amounts on death company and transports? They eat up half my points! That could easily be 3 full squads of 10 tacticals, giving me double the bodies, double the shots and double the special weapons.

Second, are flamers the weapons to go with in this case? Might I be better off with missile launchers or plasma guns? Range on flamers and meltas seems a bit low. I noticed a lot of BA lists use drop pods to get into range, is it worth using close range special weapons without a pod?

Third, how do Whirlwinds do in games? They seem like cheap support options that could sit up the back and rain missiles on things.

Cheers!