Librarian Colours

Kane Sideram

Hello, first let me preface this by saying I'm one of those collectors primarily concerned with painting and the general look of an army as a display piece. However, despite my chances of ever actually participating in a real battle being slim, I still like the idea of having a functional and legitimate army. One that could win battles, in the unlikely event I find someone near to play with, and should I ever really learn the intracies of the game itself.

My occupation is digital art, and so colour is very important to me. I return to the hobby after a 10 year hiatus, and love Blood Angels. Which causes me some issue. I hate, and I sincerely mean the word hate, that space marine librarians are blue, no matter the faction. Especially with chapters like Blood Angels, where the majority of your army is red.

I want a librarian. I also want a librarian dread.. Because the models are beautiful, But I simply cannot stand to have some blue :cuss stood in a sea of red. But I want to have an authentic Blood Angels army. Not a successor chapter, or a DIY chapter. But the librarian issue has caused me some grief.

Is there anything I can do? I've considered a far more muted blue, almost a space wolves grey, or a desaturated navy, which might compliment the red far more than the awkward ultramarines blue that librarians seem to require. My fear being if I wouldn't have an authentic Blood Angel army if I opted for this.. And if I ever hypothetically took my army to the field, some pedantic :cuss would call me out on it.

This may sound trivial and nit-picky, but I genuinely love displaying my army, and the librarian issue is a real one for me. This forum is filled with far more knowledgeable people, and I wondered if anyone would even consider a grey librarian an issue, or am I just over reacting about a non-matter? Could an authentic Blood Angels army use a different colour for its librarian?

TLDR; I hate blue librarians. What are my options?