How would YOU use Assault Squads in a DC?

Berzul

I've been a fan of GW over DW and RW since I started playing. Deathwing and Ravenwing are almost always in my army lists, but I do prefer armies based around lots of Tactical Marines. So, of course that I am thrilled about the Demi Company and Battle Company formations. I already had lots of devastators, tactical squads, and some dreadnoughts, ready to go and form up. But the assault squads are a hard thing to approach.

You need to take one of this squads as a required unit, and I'm not sure what the best way to use them is. 

When I first started playing, I was drawn to the assault squads even if just by the coolness factor. Say what you will, I think they look great. But I was quickly adviced against using them, in favour for Ravenwing Attack Squadrons. So they acumulated dust. Being cold and logical, there really was no good reason to use them over more bikers (even the *free* drop pod with flamers idea wasn't enough to convince me entirely).

But now? Now you HAVE to take 'em. So, the question I always had postponed, came back in force: How should you use the assault squad?

So far I've always had a Ravenwing Attack Squadron, be it a stand alone unit or a combat squad, of a Sgt. with melta bombs and 2 meat shields without special anything, to scout, turbo boost and outflank the enemy, and go after tanks and vehicles. I used to even give them a Librarian with a PFG, but that is no longer a possibility. Even so, this 3 biker unit with melta bombs always worked wonders for me (they gave me a victory over a Tau friend just last night by taking out a very well covered Hammerhead that was laying waste to my infantry).

I started thinking: What if I gave an Assault Squad some melta bombs and sent them to do that job, instead?

So far I see three big pros: 

1) 5 man squads have 2 wounds over a 3 biker squad

2) Deepstrike can be more effective than outflank at times