new player looking for advice on old models

So im new to all things 40k, but have decided to build a space marine army as my new hobby, ( i have recently been forced to give up my loved rugby due to injury and need sumthing else to fill in my time ). I chose space marines as they where my favorite team in the old dawn of war game and have always loved the idea of genetically modified super soilders in space. This will be a long term project and as i live in rural Australia even when i get my army done gamse will be few and far between. About 8 months ago i got the the old codex and a few books (loved them all) and recently got my 1st box of taticals to make a start on my home spun chapter of the emperors finest, complete with my own back story and all.

Anyway back to the point of the post a mate of mine gave me a box of old models he got as a kid but never got into, the box says its from 1993 (i only have the bottom half) and has space marines and orks in it some partly painted most untouched but assembled. I was going to use the 18 marines pluss my box of taticals to make a start on my army, but now I'm starting to think they may be wasted on me, i mean they 20 years old i think they deserve more then a novice whos a hopeless painter. So i gess my question is should i paint them? Should I sell them? If so how much (if anything ) r they worth? Is there such thing as antique miniatures?

Any answers help etc would be awesome. As i said im new to this, and the site

Thanks in advanced Commander Cutlet of the 'Verigate Order'

Hi, and welcome to the hobby/site. :)