Help with a 1500 point list...

LutherMax

All the lists I've come up with so far have been pretty rubbish. Mainly because I started collecting models before I started playing and realised afterwards I had a whole bunch of mis-matched stuff. I've got more to choose from now but would like some help forming a list that, while may not be exactly 'competitive', at least has some chance of winning a game for reasons other than sheer luck.

I'm keen to try out Dante, the latest codex pin-up boy. I don't have the model but will throw one together from Sanguinary Guard bits.

Thinking of sticking him with a Sanguinary Guard squad.

Death Company with Chaplain.

Stormraven maybe.

Other things I have that I could currently field:

- tactical squad

- assault squad with jump packs

- assault squad with melta (in pod)

- drop pod

- fragioso

- DC dread

- 2x Baal preds

- HB/AC land speeder

- rhino / razorback

- land raider redeemer

- sanguinary priest

- mephiston

So what would the more tactically-minded amongst us choose from the above to stick into a 1500 point list?!

Hey there,

I'm not a veteran by any stretch of the imagination so maybe others will give a more informed opinion of things but this is a few things I have noticed about my games in general.

Dante is a strong beat stick but if your jumping him up the field it's better to have multiple jump units so he can break off into another unit when the 1 he is in gets whittled down.

Death company with Chaplins do a lot of dammage which usually over kills the unit leaving them vulnerable to getting shot the next turn, or your figniting against another dedicated close combat unit where there not doing enough wounds and astorath would be a better choice.

Sanguinary guard are decent (I think I have used them in every game I have played in 7th) but benefit a great deal f m a buffing unit like a Libby or sanguinary priest.

Dreadnought's are good but god they are slow and need a transport either pod or storm raven