Drop Pod Gravistators

Caldria

Hey there brothers.

I had 2 games this weekend, both at 1500 pts (my first 2 with the new codex actually) one was a death/raven against IG.
The second was a Battle Company against a Khorne Daemonkin list with a ton of bikes and hounds (pretty much only bikes and hounds besides the mandatory cultists/bloodletters/possessed)

I swear I didn't know I was facing an entirely assaulty army when I decided to go with the Battle Company xD (needless to say, the full ballistic skill overwatch came in handy here, although because it was only a 1500 pt game, 5 man tactical squads dont pack that much of a punch against 6man bikers and 10+ hounds - even with the extra turn of overwatch shooting)

I was a little limited with the transports I had (only 5 rhinos/razors and 1 drop pod) So in this game I decided to do something I've never done before.

I stuck 7 or 8 devastators with 3 grav cannons (had to cut one out for points) in the pod with my company master - who had the shroud of heroes, arti armour and mace of redemption.

And I'm gonna just say - I instantly fell in love with this unit. Now, granted they were only wounding on 6+ the whole game due to facing daemons. The grav amps did help a ton though (but i rolled enough to see what this unit COULD do against any other army - and I did also entirely wipe out the mandatory medium sized possessed unit in overwatch alone)

The unit was eventually charged by 7 hounds (having killed about 5 in the preceding turns of shooting and overwatch) and a beefed up khorne lord on juggernaut. And to my surprise - the unit didn't get entirely wiped off of the board, the company master actually tanked well for the unit and could hurt a fair amount (He was AP1 in the challenge with the lord though, so I dont expect that any other time but I still love the MoR)

so with that small dose of playtime with that unit, it got me thinking of how to "really" run them.