What are the best loadouts for units?

LulleK

Hello!

I'm very new to playing WH40k. I'm putting together a Dark Angels army (Demi-Company) but don't know what weapons to use. Specificaly on devastators and tacticals. I'm wondering:

1. If i field 3x5 man tactical squads, what special/heavy weapons do I want on them? Also, what do I want my sergeants to have? Power sword, chainsword or bolters? I have painted the 10 tracticals from the DV set, so I have one squad with plasma gun and one with plasma cannon. Only one sergeant though, with chainsword and plasma pistol. I dont know if i should change anything with them, and don't know how to build my third squad and sergeants.

2. What are good options for devastators? I'm going to buy a pack of them (or two if I have to, to get weapons). But don't know what to arm them with.

In the rest of the army there is a Dreadnought with Twin linked lascannon (I haven't glued the arms, so I can change that in the future). Just so you know what I have already.

Thanks!

If you are using only 5 men squads, leave the sgts as they are. The squad weapons would depend if they are on foot or transport. On transport you probably will want melta/plasma/grav guns. On foot heavy weapons could be the better choice due to higher range.

As for devs, I heard Grav cannons are very popular now ;), but lascannons or plasma cannons aren+t a bad choice either.

It will depend on what your plan is with the rest of the army.The devs will fill any gaps you might have dealing with the opponent.

Thanks! smile.png

So what heavy weapons are good for the tacticals if they don't have transports? If I understand correctly, both bolt pistol + chainsword and boltgun are 0 Points for the sergeant, so what is the standard loadout there?