Landraider or Stormraven

Professor Dean

Hi All,

I'm new to blood angels and at the minute I have 2 Tactical Squads in Rhino's, 10 Sternguard in a Drop pod, 1 Furioso Dread, 1 DC Dread, 10 Deathcompany, 5 TH/SS Termies, Mephiston and Sanguinary Priest. I wont be taking all of the above apart from the 2 tact squads in rhinos which are a definite.

I was wondering what transport would be best to suit the units I have. I'm just stuck in two minds as to which one will be best.

Land Raider - Pros: 2nd Turn Charge, Already deployed, Looks badass, Flamer templates smile.png

Cons: I play against Necrons so AV14 is nothing, more costly, more players know how to effectively deal with a LR and come with melta or equivalent

Storm Raven - Pros: Need to skyfire (which would give me better odds against 20 warriors glancing it to death), Gives me AA, Cheaper than LR, Can carry unit and Dreadnought

Cons: Crash and Burn, Relying on Reserve rolls

Both are assault vehicles which are important for the terminators/DC.

So any help would be appreciated along with any other Pros/Cons I've missed before I go out and buy.

Cheers

I find the poor old Land Raider is rather lack-lustre for the points, especially the lascannon version (Crusader and Redeemer are a bit better). A single large vehicle like a land-raider will struggle to deliver valuable cargo because it will be a priority target, especially against Necrons who can glance it to death with little effort.

If you are limited to a single larger vehicle, the Storm Raven is my normal choice. It is harder to shoot, can carry a Dread into combatand provides some good AA which your army is otherwise lacking.

You are right that poor Reserve rolls and crash/burn results are risks but they can be mitigated. Blood Angels have 2 characters who provide reserve rerolls (Dante and Karlean). Alterantively, the Veritas Vitae gives you better odds of rolling a reserve manipulating trait for a cheaper Warlord.