Jump to content

Auto glance/pen questions


Gpsman

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone!

 

I have a question regarding auto glancing and penetrating hits, are they possible?

 

In the rules its states that a shot will always miss on a 1 but if i have a lascannon S9 and and i am shooting at something with armor 10 I roll to hit as normal but as a roll can never be better then a 2+ is it possible for me to glance on a one or will I miss. Thanks!

Link to comment
https://bolterandchainsword.com/topic/314931-auto-glancepen-questions/
Share on other sites

There is no "auto" roll in 40k or its fantasy equivalent, whatever that is now. I see the example given above but you still have to roll because if you roll a 1, you miss.

 

You could have a Demolisher Cannon firing against a whatever no more than 10 feet away but if you roll that 1, well, I guess the shot veers off course.

Only in so far as you can't fail to penetrate so there's no point in rolling the die, for example a Demolisher firing against an AV10 vehicle will always penetrate should it hit. Auto-glancing could only be a rules thing, as otherwise you'd be rolling a D6 (or more) and getting an auto penetrate instead ;)

Yes, auto "at least glancing"/penetrating are possible.

However i think that this is something weird according to the behaviour of all other rolls. I mean, you are the most skilled shooter (BS 10) and you have still a chanche to miss, or you have the strongest weapon (STR D) and you alwais have a good chance (1/6 is not a small chance) to not to wound even the weakest crature, or you have those strong weapons (S10) shooting at a weak T2 model and still have a chanche to do nothing (really nothing) BUT against a stronger thing (a rhino) you auto glance!

I think that a new rule is needed: a roll of 1 when checking for armour penetrating is alwais a fail (or is not counted in the result if adding multiple dice, melta, armourbane etc).

~facepalm~

 

1.  Roll to hit.  S9 has nothing to do with this.

 

If you hit:

 

2.  Roll to pen.  S9 against AV10 means you automatically at least glance. 2+ is a penetrating hit.  "ones always fail" does not apply to this roll!

 

If you penetrate:

 

3.  Roll on the damage table, applying all applicable modifiers to the result.

 

4.  Apply the result.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.