Help with colour schemes

HackedDuck

Hi guys I'm relatively new to the hobby and have decided to start an ad mech force. I'm an okay painter and have recently won a small painting competition and my local store, however I am unhappy with the way my reds have come out on my models. It's fine on the smaller troops like the vanguard but on the kastellans/destroyers I don't really like it. So I'm here looking for inspiration from all of you as to how you painted your admech. What forge world did you go for and how did you paint it?

I went for the Incaladion Forge World, using on all my units the colour scheme used by FW on their Legio Fureans Titans (yellow with black flames).

On my blog you can see almost all the units I have painted up until now and there is also a three parts step by step guide on the techniques I used

An opportunity for shamelessly plugging my thread, you say?! I'll take it!

I opted to go for my own diy forge world, Forge World Muninn. If you're looking for something a little different from the traditional mechanicus schemes take a look. And if you see anything that tickles your fancy, I'd be more than happy to share what paints or process I used.

http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/topic/319100-the-rise-of-forge-world-muninn-pic-heavy/

That really depends. Were you looking for a process using those particular colors? Or a more general purpose one to use with any scheme?

Do you have a feel you would like to achieve with your scheme? Do you want something that pops? Or do you like a darker grimmer scheme? Will you be doing weathering? Some colors work better than others for certain weathering techniques. Just some things to think about.